Home arrow About
About PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 June 2017


“Eden, the leading, enabling and inclusive district, characterised by equitable and sustainable development, high quality of life and equal opportunities for all.”


In order to achieve its vision, the Eden District Council accepted the mission below. The Eden District Municipality as a category C local authority strives, to deliver on our mandate through:

  1. Unlocking resources for equitable, prosperous and sustainable development.
  2. Provide the platform for coordination of bulk infrastructure planning across the district.
  3. Provide strategic leadership towards inclusive / radical / rigorous socio-economic transformation to address social, economic and spatial injustice.
  4. Redress inequalities, access to ensure inclusive services, information and opportunities for all citizens of the district.
  5. Initiate funding mobilisation initiatives/ programmes to ensure financial sustainability.
  6. Coordinate and facilitate social development initiatives.

Western Cape Context

Eden District Municipality (Eden DM) is a Category C Municipality, one of five in the Western Cape. Located in the South Eastern part of the Western Cape, it borders/abuts with district municipalities, including the Central Karoo to the North, Cape Winelands and Overberg to the West, and the Cacadu to the East.

Regional Context

The district municipality comprises of seven local municipalities: Bitou, Knysna, George, Mossel Bay, Hessequa, Kannaland and Oudtshoorn.

Local Municipalities in the Eden district, comprise of the folllowing towns:
Keurboomstrand, Kurland, Kwanokuthula, Nature's Valley, Plettenberg Bay.

George, Glentana, Haarlem, Herolds Bay, Uniondale, Victoria Bay, Wilderness.

Jongensfontein, Ladismith, Riversdale, Still Bay,  Witsand.

Albertinia, Calitzdorp,  Heidelberg, Vanwyksdorp, Zoar.

Boggoms Bay, Brenton, Brenton-on-Sea, Buffels Bay, Knysna, Krantshoek, Rheenendal, Sedgefield, Wittedrift.

Mossel Bay
Brandwacht, Friemersheim, Gouritz, Klein Brakriver, Great Brakrivier, Herbertsdale, Mossel Bay, Slangrivier, Vlees Bay.

De Rust, Dysselsdorp, Oudtshoorn.

Last Updated ( Monday, 19 February 2018 )
Quick Linkscentenary.jpg Eden DM Facebook emergency_communications_edendm.jpg  scep2016.jpg